Zinc Oxide and Titanium Dioxide Sunscreens: What 24 Labels Contain
Last updated October 20, 2026
The active-ingredient label names which minerals a formula uses and how much of each, but not how well the formula performs — the SPF on the front is measured on skin for the whole product, not worked out from those percentages.
A mineral sunscreen uses zinc oxide, titanium dioxide or both as its UV filters, and every US label below prints how much of each in its Drug Facts box. These are 24 mineral-only sunscreens with those percentages exactly as the labels give them. We read each label on 20 October 2026 — the FDA-filed label on DailyMed where we could match one, and the ingredient panel on the product's Amazon US listing — and every one was available on Amazon US that day.
| SPF | Product | Active ingredients (label) | Mineral mix | Particle claim | Format |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 50+ | ISDIN Eryfotona Actinica (link opens Untinted, 3.4 fl oz) | Zinc oxide 11% | Zinc only | Not stated | Face fluid |
| 50+ | Avène Mineral Multi-Defense Fluid | Zinc oxide 12% | Zinc only | Not stated | Face fluid |
| 50 | Thinkbaby Baby Sunscreen (link opens 6 fl oz) | Zinc oxide 23.4% | Zinc only | Non-nano (FDA label: "non-nano mineral") | Baby lotion |
| 50 | Coppertone Sport Mineral Lotion (link opens SPF 50, 5 fl oz; the listing also sells other Sport SPFs we did not check) | Zinc oxide 24.08% | Zinc only | Not stated | Body lotion |
| 50 | Banana Boat Mineral Lotion | Zinc oxide 19% | Zinc only | Not stated | Body lotion |
| 50 | EltaMD UV Skin Recovery (link opens Untinted, 1.7 oz) | Zinc oxide 12.9% | Zinc only | Micronized zinc oxide (FDA label carton copy) | Face lotion |
| 35 | Badger Mineral Face Stick (link opens Adult, 0.65 oz) | Uncoated zinc oxide 22.5% | Zinc only | Uncoated, "clear zinc" (FDA label); the SPL's typed Drug Facts also says non-nano | Face stick |
| 30 | Alba Botanica Sensitive Mineral | Zinc oxide 24.1% (w/w) | Zinc only | Not stated | Face and body lotion |
| 30 | Raw Elements Face + Body | Non-nano zinc oxide 23% | Zinc only | Non-nano (Amazon ingredient panel; "non nano" badge on the FDA label) | Face and body cream |
| 30 | Native Mineral Sunscreen, Unscented (link opens 7 fl oz) | Zinc oxide 17% | Zinc only | Not stated | Face and body lotion |
| 70 | Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Liquid Mineral Face (percentages from the FDA label; the Amazon panel names titanium dioxide only) | Titanium dioxide 6.6%, zinc oxide 14.4% | Zinc + titanium | Not stated | Face liquid |
| 50 | Blue Lizard Sensitive (link opens the 3 oz tube) | Titanium dioxide 8%, zinc oxide 10% | Zinc + titanium | Not stated | Body lotion |
| 50 | La Roche-Posay Anthelios Mineral Gentle Lotion (link opens 3 fl oz) | Titanium dioxide 5%, zinc oxide 15% | Zinc + titanium | Not stated | Face and body lotion |
| 50 | CeraVe Invisible Mineral | Titanium dioxide 2.66%, zinc oxide 15.35% | Zinc + titanium | Not stated | Face lotion |
| 50 | MDSolarSciences Mineral Crème (link opens 1.7 fl oz) | Titanium dioxide 2%, zinc oxide 17% | Zinc + titanium | Micronized zinc oxide (listing title) | Face cream |
| 47 | EltaMD UV Pure (the listing calls it a zinc oxide formula; the label adds titanium dioxide) | Titanium dioxide 5.5%, zinc oxide 10.0% | Zinc + titanium | Not stated | Face and body cream |
| 41 | EltaMD UV Physical (link opens Tinted, Fair to Med; the listing's Rosy Tint is sold as SPF 40) | Titanium dioxide 7.0%, zinc oxide 9.0% | Zinc + titanium | Not stated | Tinted face cream |
| 30 | Neutrogena Purescreen+ Mineral Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch (link opens SPF 30, 3 fl oz; the Amazon panel rounds these to 6.6% and 18.0%; the SPF 45 and 55 options on the same listing are the chemical Ultra Sheer line) | Titanium dioxide 6.64%, zinc oxide 18.096% | Zinc + titanium | Not stated | Body lotion |
| 30 | Neutrogena Purescreen+ Mineral UV Tint (link opens Medium) | Titanium dioxide 3.2%, zinc oxide 21.6% | Zinc + titanium | Not stated | Tinted face liquid |
| 30 | CeraVe Hydrating Mineral Sheer Tint (link opens Medium; the Light and Deep labels print the same actives) | Titanium dioxide 5.5%, zinc oxide 10% | Zinc + titanium | Not stated | Tinted face lotion |
| 50 | La Roche-Posay Anthelios Mineral Tinted Light Fluid (link opens Light; the Amazon panel prints 11%; the Medium shade's label is SPF 40 with titanium dioxide 17% and zinc oxide 8%) | Titanium dioxide 11.01% | Titanium only | Not stated | Tinted face fluid |
| 50 | CeraVe Hydrating Mineral, Face (link opens Face, 2.5 oz; the Body version's label prints the same actives) | Titanium dioxide 9%, zinc oxide 7% | Titanium-led | Not stated | Face lotion |
| 50 | Cetaphil Sheer Mineral Stick (link opens the 0.5 oz stick) | Titanium dioxide 6%, zinc oxide 4.7% | Titanium-led | Not stated | Face and body stick |
| 30 | CeraVe Hydrating Mineral, Body (link opens Body, 5 fl oz) | Titanium dioxide 6%, zinc oxide 5% | Titanium-led | Not stated | Body lotion |
How to read the table. "Active ingredients" is the label's own line, percentages included. "Mineral mix" sorts the products three ways: zinc only; zinc + titanium, where zinc oxide is the larger share; and titanium-led, where titanium dioxide is the larger share or the only mineral. "Particle claim" records a non-nano or similar claim only where the label or the brand's listing makes one; "not stated" means neither does, not that the product is nano. Where a listing sells several shades, sizes or formulas, the note says which one the link opens. Within each group, products are ordered by labeled SPF.
How to read a mineral sunscreen label
Look at the Active ingredients line of the Drug Facts box, not the front of the pack. A mineral sunscreen lists zinc oxide, titanium dioxide or both there, each with a percentage; any other name on that line is a chemical filter, which makes the product a hybrid. Iron oxides, the pigments in tinted formulas, sit among the inactive ingredients because they are not UV filters. Front-of-pack wording can mislead: EltaMD UV Pure's listing calls it a zinc oxide formula, and its label lists 5.5% titanium dioxide alongside 10.0% zinc oxide.
Zinc only, or zinc and titanium. The two minerals cover different parts of the UV range. On its own, zinc oxide covers UVB, UVA II and most of UVA I; its absorption falls away across the last stretch of UVA I, about 385 to 400 nm. Titanium dioxide is primarily a UVB filter, with partial UVA coverage. A 2025 review of the two minerals puts the pairing plainly: titanium dioxide mostly absorbs in the UVB range, zinc oxide interacts with both UVB and UVA, and the combination enables broad-spectrum sunscreens.
What the percentages mean. Each figure is how much of the product that mineral makes up; a few labels add "w/w", by weight. The most a sunscreen may contain is 25% of each mineral in the US, the EU and Canada, and the EU and Canada count nano and non-nano forms together toward that limit. Australia caps titanium dioxide at 25% and sets no maximum for zinc oxide. Japan sets no cap for either, because neither appears on its list of UV absorbers. The highest single figure in the table is 24.1%.
Proposed, not final. In the US, both minerals are listed in the FDA's sunscreen monograph, M020, at up to 25%. The FDA proposed both as generally recognized as safe and effective (GRASE) in 2019, re-proposed that in 2021, and has not finalized it.
Sources: Smijs TG, Pavel S. Titanium dioxide and zinc oxide nanoparticles in sunscreens: focus on their safety and effectiveness. Nanotechnology, Science and Applications. 2011;4:95-112. PMC3781714. Araki S, Baby A. Cosmetics. 2025;12(2):77 (full reference below). Limits from the FDA monograph M020 and proposed order OTC000008, EU Regulation 1223/2009 Annex VI, the Health Canada sunscreen monograph, the Australian Permissible Ingredients Determination and Japan's Standards for Cosmetics, as recorded in our UV filter dataset.
Why more zinc does not mean a higher SPF
SPF is a property of the finished product. It is defined by how much more UV skin can take before it reddens with the sunscreen on than without it, so a label's SPF is the result of testing that whole formula on skin. The percentages tell you what the formula is built from, not the number it reached.
What the minerals reach on their own (2008)
A 2008 in vitro comparison, restated in a 2025 review of the two minerals, tested nine zinc oxide and eight titanium dioxide samples at 25%, the highest concentration allowed in the US. The zinc oxides measured from about SPF 5 to SPF 10, and the titanium dioxides from about SPF 5 to SPF 38. The finished sunscreens in the table are labeled SPF 30 to 70, mostly with less than that 25%. Among the zinc-only products, ISDIN Eryfotona Actinica is labeled SPF 50+ with 11% zinc oxide, while Alba Botanica Sensitive Mineral, with 24.1%, is labeled SPF 30.
Reference: Araki S, Baby A. New Perspectives on Titanium Dioxide and Zinc Oxide as Inorganic UV Filters: Advances, Safety, Challenges, and Environmental Considerations. Cosmetics. 2025;12(2):77. doi:10.3390/cosmetics12020077 — restating Couteau et al.'s 2008 in vitro comparison of zinc oxide and titanium dioxide.
So use the label to see which minerals a product relies on, and the labeled SPF, which is what was measured, to compare protection. Our zinc oxide and zinc and titanium combination pages set out the lab data in full.
Non-nano on the label
Most labels in the table give each mineral's name and percentage and nothing about particle size. Five make a particle claim. Thinkbaby prints "non-nano mineral" on its FDA label. Raw Elements lists "non-nano zinc oxide" in its Amazon ingredient panel, and its FDA label carries a "non nano" badge. Badger's label prints "uncoated zinc oxide" and "clear zinc"; "non-nano" appears only in the typed Drug Facts text of its FDA filing, not on the label artwork. EltaMD UV Skin Recovery's carton and MDSolarSciences' listing describe "micronized zinc oxide". We record those claims as the brands make them; we have not tested particle size. The other 19 say nothing either way, which is why the column reads "not stated" rather than "nano".
In the EU and Canada, nano and non-nano forms count together toward the same 25% limit, and Canada bars nano forms from aerosol, spray and loose-powder products. For what the skin-penetration studies found, see nano mineral sunscreens.
How we checked
We started from the mineral sunscreens already listed on this site and the best-known mineral sunscreens on Amazon US, kept only products whose active ingredients are zinc oxide, titanium dioxide or both, and read each label at the source: the FDA-filed label on DailyMed, the Amazon US ingredient panel, or both. On DailyMed we read the label images as well as the typed text sections: the typed text dropped two particle claims and rounded two percentages, and where the two differ the table follows the printed label. Percentages are printed as the label gives them; where an Amazon panel was incomplete, rounded or left out the percent signs, we used the FDA label. The mineral mix comes from the active ingredients only. Prices are left off on purpose — they change daily.
Left out on purpose: a sunscreen whose FDA label and Amazon panel give different zinc oxide percentages; a sport lotion whose newest FDA label adds a chemical filter; a lotion sold as a "new" formula we could not match to any FDA label; hybrids that pair zinc oxide with a chemical filter; and two products whose namesakes measured below their labeled SPF in independent tests we report on our product pages, Neutrogena Sheer Zinc Dry-Touch and Australian Gold Botanical Mineral Lotion. Most tinted mineral sunscreens are in our separate list of tinted sunscreens with iron oxide, with the iron oxides each label names.
Our Verdict: 4/5
Mineral sunscreens are the easiest kind to check: the Drug Facts box names zinc oxide, titanium dioxide or both, with a percentage for each, so you can see at a glance whether a product is zinc-only, a zinc and titanium blend, or a hybrid that adds chemical filters. What the percentage cannot tell you is the protection. In a 2008 lab comparison, 25% zinc oxide on its own reached only about SPF 10, while the zinc-only labels in this list run from 11% zinc oxide at SPF 50+ to 24.1% at SPF 30. Use the label to choose the minerals, and the labeled SPF, which is measured on skin, to compare protection.
Pros
- Every US label in this list prints each mineral and its percentage in the Drug Facts box
- Zinc oxide alone covers UVB, UVA II and most of UVA I
- Sold at labeled SPF 30 to 70, in face, body, baby, stick and tinted formats
- Both minerals are listed in the US monograph at up to 25%, and the FDA has proposed both as safe and effective
Cons
- The percentage does not predict the SPF: a zinc-only SPF 50+ here uses 11% zinc oxide and a zinc-only SPF 30 uses 24.1%
- Protection weakens across the top of UVA I (about 385-400 nm), where zinc oxide's absorption falls away
- Particle size is rarely stated: only five of the 24 make a particle claim
- The FDA's safe-and-effective finding for both minerals is proposed, not final
Recommended: Blue Lizard Sensitive Mineral Sunscreen SPF 50 — titanium dioxide 8% and zinc oxide 10% on its FDA label — both minerals, both percentages disclosed
Frequently Asked Questions
Which sunscreens contain zinc oxide and titanium dioxide?
In this list, 13 of the 24 mineral sunscreens use both. In ten, zinc oxide is the larger share, such as Blue Lizard Sensitive SPF 50 (titanium dioxide 8%, zinc oxide 10%) and EltaMD UV Pure SPF 47 (titanium dioxide 5.5%, zinc oxide 10.0%). In three, titanium dioxide leads, such as CeraVe Hydrating Mineral SPF 50 (titanium dioxide 9%, zinc oxide 7%). To check any product, read the Active ingredients line of its Drug Facts box: both minerals appear there, each with a percentage.
What are the ingredients in mineral sunscreen?
The active ingredients are zinc oxide, titanium dioxide or both, the two mineral UV filters, and the Drug Facts box lists each with its percentage. Everything else is an inactive ingredient, including the iron oxides in tinted formulas, which are pigments rather than UV filters. If any other name appears among the actives, it is a chemical filter and the product is a hybrid.
What percentage of zinc oxide is best?
None of the sources we rely on names a best percentage. The limit is 25% in the US, EU and Canada; Australia sets no maximum for zinc oxide and Japan sets no cap. The zinc-only sunscreens in this list run from 11% zinc oxide (labeled SPF 50+) to 24.1% (labeled SPF 30), because a label's SPF is measured on skin for the whole formula, not predicted from its zinc content. To compare protection, compare the labeled SPF.
Is 10% zinc oxide enough for sunscreen?
The percentage alone does not answer it. In a 2008 lab comparison, zinc oxide on its own reached at most about SPF 10, even at 25%, yet finished products with far less are labeled much higher: ISDIN Eryfotona Actinica is labeled SPF 50+ with 11% zinc oxide, and EltaMD UV Pure SPF 47 with 10.0% zinc oxide plus 5.5% titanium dioxide. A label's SPF is the result of testing that formula on skin, so judge protection by the SPF.
How much zinc oxide is in an SPF 50 sunscreen?
Among the zinc-only SPF 50 and 50+ labels in this list, from 11% (ISDIN Eryfotona Actinica) to 24.08% (Coppertone Sport Mineral). Formulas that add titanium dioxide are labeled SPF 50 with less zinc oxide: CeraVe Hydrating Mineral SPF 50 uses 7% zinc oxide with 9% titanium dioxide, and Cetaphil Sheer Mineral Stick SPF 50 uses 4.7% zinc oxide with 6% titanium dioxide.
What percentage of zinc oxide and titanium dioxide should be in sunscreen?
Each is limited to 25% in the US, EU and Canada, and none of the sources we rely on recommends a split. The labels in this list show how far brands differ: MDSolarSciences Mineral Crème uses titanium dioxide 2% with zinc oxide 17%, and CeraVe Hydrating Mineral uses titanium dioxide 9% with zinc oxide 7%, and both are sold as SPF 50.
Which sunscreens say non-nano on the label?
Five in this list make a particle claim. Thinkbaby prints "non-nano mineral" on its FDA label, and Raw Elements Face + Body lists "non-nano zinc oxide" in its Amazon ingredient panel, with a "non nano" badge on its FDA label. Badger Mineral Face Stick's label says "uncoated zinc oxide" and "clear zinc"; "non-nano" appears only in the typed Drug Facts of its FDA filing. EltaMD UV Skin Recovery's carton and MDSolarSciences Mineral Crème's listing describe "micronized zinc oxide". The other 19 say nothing about particle size either way, so a missing claim does not tell you a product is nano.